Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Images & Voices of Hope | December 2, 2020

Scroll to top


Submit your nominations for ivoh’s 2017 Awards of Appreciation

Submit your nominations for ivoh’s 2017 Awards of Appreciation

(From left: ivoh award winners Asha Siad, Jesse Roesler, Lisa De Bode, and Tara Bracco; judges Meredith Porte and Mallary Tenore; and winner Adam Horowitz. Photo by Kenny Irby.



Images & Voices of Hope is seeking to salute outstanding media projects and practitioners for its 2017 Awards of Appreciation.

Honorees are selected based on nominations from the public, media organizations, and fellow practitioners. ivoh also welcomes practitioners to nominate themselves — no later than11:59 p.m. on  Friday, April 28.

For 11 years, ivoh has celebrated media that shows a commitment to constructive change. We recognize single media projects and ongoing work, and give priority to individuals over organizations.

ivoh honors:

—> Media that benefits communities and individuals, creates meaningful awareness and change, and acts as a force for good.

—> Media practitioners who have done work that offers constructive meaning, amplifies hope, and creates a sense of possibility about the future of humanity.

—> Media practitioners who overcome challenges to tell stories that may otherwise remain untold.

—> Work that exemplifies the Restorative Narrative genre by highlighting how people and communities are making a meaningful progression from a place of despair to a place of resilience.

—> The capacity of media and the arts to locate what is most life-giving in our accounts of the world. This, we believe, is very different from highlighting positive stories and images.

Entries don’t need to reflect every criteria but must embody at least one, and ideally more, of the intended purposes. We aim to select winners from a variety of media fields, including journalism, photography, documentary film, gaming, marketing/advertising, and the arts. We ask that award recipients attend our annual media summit — which will be held June 22-25 in upstate New York – to receive their award. Awardees will receive an all-expenses paid trip to the summit, which will feature an awards ceremony in which speak about their work on stage.

Individuals can nominate themselves or others by filling out this nomination form by11:59 p.m. Eastern Friday, April 28. Our panel of judges will review applications in early May and select up to five winners, who will be notified by mid-May.



This year’s Awards of Appreciation winners will be in good company. Past winners include:


—> Maud Beelman, Editor at The Associated Press

—> June Cohen, Founder & CEO, Owl Lane Media, former TED Media Executive Producer

—> David Fanning, Founder and Executive Producer at Large, Frontline

—> Sanjeev Chatterjee, Filmmaker and Professor at the University of Miami’s School of Communication

—> Georgia Popplewell, Managing Director, Global Voices

—> Jesse Roesler, Emmy Award-Winning Filmmaker

—> Jeanguy Saintus, Founder of The Ayikodans, the premiere professional dance company of Haiti


We encourage you to submit your nomination sooner than later and share the nomination form with anyone else who you think might be interested. We look forward to learning more about your good work and are happy to answer any questions you might have.